DBAAR's Adopt-A-School Program

The Daytona Beach Area Association of REALTORS® created an “Adopt-A-Child Program” in 1990, and the program began to grow each year. In 2006, the DBAAR formed a separate, wholly-owned subsidiary 501(c) 3 corporation to make contributions to the program tax-deductible. In 2011, the program served 14 different agencies and “adopted” over 500 children in the Volusia County area. REALTORS® shopped for and filled backpacks with school supplies to help ensure needy children were prepared for the school year.

After years of shopping for, transporting, storing, and ultimately packing the backpacks with supplies, DBAAR elected to raise money and contribute it to elementary schools in our area within the Volusia County public school system through an “Adopt-A-School” program. Modeled after successful private-public school partnerships around the country, DBAAR’s Adopt-A-School program selects one or more deserving schools and provides much-needed funds specifically earmarked for classrooms. This impacts more students in the school instead of a few. It also assists the teachers, who often pay for school supplies for their classrooms out-of-pocket. The grant program benefits the educational needs of the students, which is one of the principal goals for which the DBAAR Foundation was created. To ensure the funds are spent appropriately, schools are required to submit an “RFF” or Request for Funds form which outlines the specific use(s) of the funds. Once approved by DBAAR’s Member Services Committee and its Board of Directors, money is directed towards the school’s needs.
Since revising the Adopt-A-School program in 2011, the program has been able to assist local schools with items such as document cameras, computers, books, calculators, and playground, physical education and music equipment with monetary contributions and fundraising efforts totaling almost $40,000.

Sweetwater   Champion Elementary   Cypress Creek   Tomoka
Funding assistance for the STEM
Program at Sweetwater Elementary School
  Funding assistance for the Champion
Elementary School
Music Program
  Funding assistance to purchase iPads for Cypress Creek Elementary School   Funding assistance for the STAR Student Program at Tomoka Elementary School
R.J. Longstreet   Ortona   Pine Trail   South Daytona
Funding assistance to purchase Chromebooks for R.J. Longstreet Elementary School   Funding assistance to purchase Chromebooks for Ortona Elementary School   Funding assistance to
purchase school supplies for Pine Trail Elementary School
  Funding assistance for the Positive Behavior Support Program and School Improvement Plan at South Daytona Elementary School

In 2013, it was decided to give Adopt-A-School supporters a choice of either contributing monetary funds to the program to assist the local schools or to donate a backpack filled with the basic school supplies to children at local homeless shelters. Since making this change in 2013, the program has been also able to supply over 300 children with needed supplies to help them start school.

Adopt-A-School Pledge
Substantiation of Charitable Giving Form

Target Schools

The following is a list of the public elementary schools in our geographic area:

Champion Elementary School (formerly Hurst)
Cypress Creek Elementary School
Holly Hill School
Horizon Elementary School
Longstreet, R.J. Elementary School
Ormond Beach Elementary School
Ortona Elementary School
Osceola Elementary School
Palm Terrace Elementary School
Pathways Elementary School
Pine Trail Elementary School
Port Orange Elementary School
South Daytona Elementary School
Spruce Creek Elementary School
Sugar Mill Elementary School
Sweetwater Elementary School
Tomoka Elementary School
Turie T. Small Elementary School
Westside Elementary School